Google Chrome beefs up security from unwanted softwares, to warn users against visiting such sites
SHARE
, / 418 0
Chrome Web browser will now be able to identify sites that have automatic software downloads.

Chrome Web browser will now be able to identify sites that have automatic software downloads.

Tech giant Google recently announced that it has added more protection from unwanted softwares. The company's Chrome Web browser will now be able to identify sites that have automatic software downloads and start warning users before visiting sites that might prompt them to download programs or malware that could ruin their computers or otherwise disrupt their web browsing experience.

This means that from now on when users attempt to open a page, they will be presented with this warning in red letters: "The site ahead contains harmful programs."

These new features, part of what Google is terming SafeBrowsing will safeguard users against harmful sites accessed from all over the web or installing programs that interfere with their browsing experiences by altering their homepages or showing additional ads on the sites they visit. The search giant has also said that it will disable all ads leading to sites with unwanted downloads.

Google said the unsafe sites come under two categories. One group comprises of malware sites that consists code to install malicious software onto users’ computers. Attackers can use this malware to capture and transfer users' personal or sensitive information. The second category consists of phishing sites that feign to be genuine while trying to deceive users into sharing their usernames and passwords or other private information.

"We're constantly working to keep people safe across the Web," Google Software Engineer Lucas Ballard wrote in a blog post Monday. "SafeBrowsing helps keep you safe online and includes protection against unwanted software that makes undesirable changes to your computer or interferes with your online experience."

Since a huge number of people use SafeBrowsing, Google has a lot to gain by making the browsing experience as secure as possible as the Google search engine is the company’s key income generator.

With the new initiative, site owners can register with Google Webmaster Tools to be notified when Google comes across something on their sites that might result in users downloading unwanted software. In case that happens, Google said it will provide tips to help them resolve the issues.

The search giant said it gauges how quickly Webmasters clean up their sites after being notified that their sites have been compromised. The sites can become reinfected even after cleaning if an underlying susceptibility persists. Google tracks the reinfection rate for those sites.

The SafeBrowsing feature has been in place for over three years, but it was only in last November that it added automatic malware blocking. During that time, Google noted that if users come across malicious file warnings on Web sites going forward, "you can click 'Dismiss' knowing that Chrome is working to keep you safe."

Author
Carrie Ann is Editor-in-Chief at Industry Leaders Magazine, based in Las Vegas. Carrie covers technology, trends, marketing, brands, productivity, and leadership. When she isn’t writing she prefers reading. She loves reading books and articles on business, economics, corporate law, luxury products, artificial intelligence, and latest technology. She’s keen on political discussions and shares an undying passion for gadgets. Follow Carrie Ann on Twitter, Facebook & Google.

Register today to get full access to:

All articles | Magazine archives | Livestream events | Comments

PASSWORD RESET


Register today to get full access to:

All articles | Magazine archives | Livestream events | Comments

LOGIN